THE SCOOP | Canada’s National Arts Centre To Give US Premiere Of Philip Glass At Carnegie Hall

By Michael Vincent on November 19, 2021

NAC Orchestra with music director Alexander Shelley (Photo: Dwayne Brown)
NAC Orchestra with music director Alexander Shelley (Photo: Dwayne Brown)

The National Arts Centre Orchestra will be heading to Carnegie Hall on April 5, 2022, for the US premiere of Philip Glass’ Symphony No. 13.

The new symphony was commissioned by the NAC Orchestra on the theme Truth in Our Time as a tribute to the late Toronto-born journalist Peter Jennings.

While working for ABC News, Jennings was a trustee of Carnegie Hall, the founding director of the American Friends of the NAC Orchestra, and a long-time supporter of Canadian musicians.

The event will open with Canadian composer Nicole Lizée’s Zeiss After Dark, followed by Dmitri Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 9. It will also include Canadian violinist James Ehnes playing Erich Korngold’s Violin Concerto.

“We chose the Korngold concerto because it speaks to the theme Truth in Our Time, as do all the compositions we will be playing at Carnegie Hall,” said Music Director Alexander Shelley. “We hope to share with our friends in New York City a compelling, engaging and memorable concert that reflects on global challenges such as truth and freedom of speech.”

Glass’s Symphony No. 13 will make its world premiere in Toronto at Roy Thomson Hall on March 30, 2022 with soloist Blake Pouliot.

Tickets for the Carnegie Hall event are available here.


Get the daily arts news straight to your inbox.

Sign up for the Ludwig van Daily — classical music and opera in five minutes or less HERE.

Michael Vincent
Follow me
Share this article
comments powered by Disqus

daily news straight to your inbox by 6 am

company logo
Terms of Service & Privacy Policy
© 2023, Museland Media, Inc., All Rights Reserved.