We have detected that you are using an adblocking plugin in your browser.

The revenue we earn by the advertisements is used to manage this website. Please whitelist our website in your adblocking plugin.

THE SCOOP | Royal Conservatory's Dr. Peter Simon Awarded The Order Of Ontario

By Michael Vincent on January 2, 2024

Dr. Peter Simon, Order of Canada
Dr. Peter Simon (Photo courtesy of the Royal Conservatory of Music)

In the realm of music education in Canada, one name strikes a particular chord. Dr. Peter Simon, the dynamic President & CEO of The Royal Conservatory of Music (RCM), has been honoured with the prestigious Order of Ontario.

In an announcement today, Dr. Simon was lauded for his pivotal role in “reshaping Ontario’s musical education landscape one student at a time.” His vision has elevated the RCM over a 33-year period to one of the highest echelons of global music institutions.

Dr. Simon’s contributions extend beyond administrative leadership. His initiatives, such as Learning Through the Arts, have fine-tuned the essence of music education, emphasizing its power to forge deep human connections and societal cohesion. The creation of Koerner Hall under his guidance has given musicians and audiences alike a venue that resonates with unparalleled acoustic perfection.

This year’s Order of Ontario appointees form an illustrious ensemble of 25 distinguished individuals. They span a symphony of sectors, including education, culture, and health care, each contributing to Ontario’s prosperity and global influence. Since 1986, this honour has celebrated the impactful lives of over 800 Ontarians.

As Dr. Simon aptly puts it, “Music has a unique power to connect people in a truly profound way and is therefore critical to achieving the mutual accommodation and understanding that is the basis of a cohesive and successful society.”

The full list of 2023 appointees to the Order of Ontario are:

Jay Aspin
John M. Beck
Jo-Anne Clarke
Hon. David Collenette
Claire Crooks
Julie Di Lorenzo
John English
Lee Errett
Gervan Fearon
Patrick Foran
Blake C. Goldring
Herbert Ho Ping Kong
Blake Hutcheson
Michael Latner
Bernard Leduc
Joy MacDermid
Dwayne Morgan
Florence Ngenzebuhoro
Hazelle Palmer
Fred Possmayer
Peter Simon
Gary Slaight
George Trusler
Raquel Urtasun
Bhavana Varma

Michael Vincent
Follow me
Share this article
comments powered by Disqus


company logo

Part of

Terms of Service & Privacy Policy
© 2024 | Executive Producer Moses Znaimer