We have detected that you are using an adblocking plugin in your browser.

The revenue we earn by the advertisements is used to manage this website. Please whitelist our website in your adblocking plugin.

THE SCOOP | Canadian Pianist Jaeden Izik-Dzurko Named 1st Prize Winner Of The Concours musical international de Montréal

By Anya Wassenberg on May 17, 2024

2024 Concours musical international de Montréal finalists Jaeden Izik-Dzurko (1st Prize Winner), Gabriele Strata et Anthony Ratinov (Photo: @Tam Photography)
2024 Concours musical international de Montréal finalists Jaeden Izik-Dzurko (1st Prize Winner), Gabriele Strata (2nd Prize) and Anthony Ratinov (3rd Prize) (Photo: @Tam Photography)

Canadian Jaeden Izik-Dzurko was declared the 1st Prize Winner of the 2024 Concours musical international de Montréal (CMIM) at the conclusion of the finals last night (May 16). The competition this year focused on the piano, and drew competitors from across the globe to vie for a total of $200,000 in prizes and grants.

Jury members consisted of cultural manager Zarin Metha, and an international panel: Dmitri Alexeev (Russia, UK), Lydia Artymiw (USA), Louise Bessette (Canada), Jan Jiracek von Arnim (Germany), Robert Levin (USA), Hélène Mercier (Canada), Ronan O’Hora (Great Britain, Ireland), and Minsoo Sohn (South Korea).

Jaeden Izik-Dzurko

Along with his technical mastery and interpretive skills, the jury noted Izik-Dzurko’s charismatic stage presence.

Born in Salmon Arm, British Columbia, Jaeden was also the First Prize winner at the 2022 Hilton Head International Piano Competition, the 2022 Maria Canals International Music Competition, and took home 1st prize, the Canon Audience Prize, and the Chamber Music Award at the 20th Paloma O’Shea Santander International Piano Competition.

He grew up in a musical household, first studying piano with his father as his teacher. After earning an undergraduate degree from The Juilliard School, he received a Masters in Piano Performance from the University of British Columbia. Jaeden is currently studying with Dr. Jacob Leuschner at the Detmold Hochschule für Musik and Dr. Benedetto Lupo at the Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia.

He has performed with orchestras in Western Canada, including the Calgary Philharmonic, and in Spain, Jove Orquestra Nacional de Catalunya, and the Orquesta Sinfónica de Madrid.

Along with his work as a soloist, Jaeden is an avid chamber musician. During the Semifinal chamber music part of the competition, he performed Robert Schumann’s Quartet in E-flat major, Op. 47, Sostenuto assai – Allegro ma non troppo.

At the finals, each of the six remaining competitors performed a concerto of their choice, accompanied by the Orchestre symphonique de Montréal (OSM) and Guest Conductor Xian Zhang. Jaeden performed Johannes Brahms’ Concerto No. 2 in B-flat major, Op. 83, in its entirety.

The Prizes

The Sibylla-Hesse 1st Prize is valued at $140K, and consists of:

  • Cash Prize of $30,000 offered by la Ville de Montréal;
  • Joseph-Rouleau Career Development Grant of $50,000 offered by the Azrieli Foundation;
  • Steinway Recording Prize (valued at $54,000) offered by Steinway & Sons;
  • Steinway Prizewinner Concerts Korean tour (World Culture Network) in March 2025, along with other concerts to be announced offered by Steinway & Sons;
  • Engagement for a concert or recital in a subsequent program of the Orchestre symphonique de Montréal, offered by the Orchestre symphonique de Montréal;
  • Engagement for a recital for the 2025-2026 season of the Coast Recital Society offered by the Coast Recital Society, British Columbia.

Other Prize Winners

Along with Jaeden’s 1st Prize, two other competitors were recognized.

  • Pierre-Péladeau and Raymonde-Chopin 2nd Prize of $15,000 offered by Québecor: Gabriele STRATA (Italy)
  • 3rd Prize of $10,000 offered by Stingray Classica: Anthony RATINOV (USA)

The CMIM includes a number of other prizes for various aspects of performance and competition.

  • Winner of the ICI Musique Audience Award (5,000$): Gabriele STRATA (Italy)
  • Winner of the Best Canadian Artist Award (5,000$): Jaeden IZIK-DZURKO (Canada)
  • Three CMIM Grants of $3,000 each for the unranked finalists: Elias ACKERLEY (UK / South Korea), Jakub KUSZLIK (Poland), Derek WANG (USA)
  • Winner of the Junior Jury Prize: Jakub KUSZLIK (Poland)
  • Winner of the Bita Cattelan Philanthropic Engagement Award: Élisabeth PION (Canada)
  • Winner of the Chamber Music Award: Gabriele STRATA (Italy)
  • Winner of the Best performance of a Sonata in the Semifinal: Jaeden IZIK-DZURKO (Canada)
  • Winner of the André Bachand Award for the Best performance of an imposed Canadian work: Jaeden IZIK-DZURKO (Canada)

Are you looking to promote an event? Have a news tip? Need to know the best events happening this weekend? Send us a note.


Get the daily arts news straight to your inbox.

Sign up for the Ludwig Van Toronto e-Blast! — local classical music and opera news straight to your inbox HERE.

Follow me
Share this article
comments powered by Disqus


company logo

Part of

Terms of Service & Privacy Policy
© 2024 | Executive Producer Moses Znaimer