We have detected that you are using an adblocking plugin in your browser.

The revenue we earn by the advertisements is used to manage this website. Please whitelist our website in your adblocking plugin.

LEBRECHT LISTENS | Violinist Annabelle Berthomé-Reynolds & Pianist Luka Okros Reveal The Fascinating Music Of Bibik In A Recent Release

By Norman Lebrecht on November 17, 2023

Annabelle Berthomé-Reynolds (Photo courtesy of the artist)
Annabelle Berthomé-Reynolds (Photo courtesy of the artist)

Bibik: Complete Sonatas for Violin & Piano (Indesens Records)


🎧 Spotify | Apple |

Have we forgotten Ukraine?

Not if I have anything to do with it.

I’ve been listening to the violin sonatas of Valentin Bibik, a much-neglected composer who spent much of his career teaching at the Conservatoire in Kharkiv, a marginal figure in a borderline country. In the 1990s he moved to St Petersburg, then to Israel, where he obtained a post at the Tel Aviv conservatory, was named composer of the year in 2001 and died very soon after, aged 62. By accident, he had a foot in each of our current wars.

His sonatas, composed or revised in the 1990s, reflect a world in transition and a composer who cannot decide which part of it to cling to — the Soviet past, the turbulent present, or a post-modern future. Draw a line from late Shostakovich to mid-Lutoslawski and you’ll grasp the musical idiom. But add a trace of Pärt and Gorecki and a larger picture emerges.

This is fascinating music, compellingly played by violinist Annabelle Berthomé-Reynolds and pianist Luka Okros. We need to hear more of Bibik. He sounds completely of this moment.

To read more from Norman Lebrecht, subscribe to Slippedisc.com.


Get the daily arts news straight to your inbox.

Sign up for the Ludwig van Daily — classical music and opera in five minutes or less HERE.

Share this article
comments powered by Disqus


company logo

Part of

Terms of Service & Privacy Policy
© 2024 | Executive Producer Moses Znaimer