TABLET (max. 1024px)
MOBILE (max. 640px)
Return to Top
Ludwig Van
Toronto Montreal

Azrieli Music Prizes

Kelly-Marie Murphy, winner of the Azrieli Music Prize. (Photo: Danylo Bobyk)




Azrieli Music Prizes
22 St. Clair Avenue East, Suite 202
Toronto, ON M4T 2S3

Website :

Contact : Jason van Eyk

Phone : 416-322-5928 ext. 326

Twitter | Facebook | YouTube



The Azrieli Foundation improves the lives of present and future generations by focusing its funding in Education, Research, Healthcare and the Arts.

In addition to making strategic philanthropic investments, the foundation operates a number of programs including the Azrieli Prize in Architecture, the Azrieli Fellows Program, the Azrieli Science Grants Program, the Holocaust Survivor Memoirs Program and the Azrieli Music Prizes.

Established in 2014, the biennial Azrieli Music Prizes (AMP) offer opportunities for the discovery, creation, performance and celebration of excellence in music composition. Two international prizes focus on new Jewish music; a third celebrates the creation of new Canadian music.

Submissions are accepted from composers of all faiths, ages, backgrounds and affiliations and evaluated by two expert AMP juries chaired by Ana Sokolviç (Canadian Jury) and Boris Brott (Jewish Jury).

All three winning composers receive a $50,000 CAD cash prize and are invited to participate in: the rehearsals and performance of their winning works at the AMP Gala Concert in Montreal; subsequent international premieres; and the recording of their work for a future commercial release.

Past and current AMP Prize Winners include Brian Current, Wlad Marhulets, Kelly Marie-Murphy, Avner Dorman, Keiko Devaux, Yitzhak Yedid and Yotam Haber.

While the 2020 competition focused on chamber music, future rounds of the Azrieli Music Prizes will focus on Choral Music (2022), Orchestral Music (2022) and Oratorio (2026).


Keiko Devaux (Photo: Caroline Desilets)

Keiko Devaux – 2020 Azrieli Commission for Canadian Music

Keiko Devaux is a Montreal-based composer who writes for ensembles, dance and film. Her compositions focus on musical ‘translations’ of experience through the interpretation of extra-musical form and patterns. She holds a Master’s in Instrumental Composition from the University of Montréal and is currently completing a Doctorate in Composition under the direction of Ana Sokolović and Pierre Michaud. She has been awarded several distinctions, including the 2019 Jan V. Matejcek Award from the SOCAN Foundation and the audience and jury prizes of the 2017 Accès Arkea Competition. She was the 2016-18 composer in residence with Le Nouvel Ensemble Moderne.


Yitzhak Yedid (Photo: Omri Barel)

Yitzhak Yedid – 2020 Azrieli Prize for Jewish Music

The multi award-winning Yitzhak Yedid melds the music of his ancestral Syrian and Iraqi Jewish background with Western art music. His musical style is eclectic, multicultural and very personal, blending jazz and Jewish cantorial music with classic European and avant-garde techniques. His added experience as an improvising concert pianist allows him to create a highly expressive, eclectic and alluring new Jewish music. Yedid studied piano at the Jerusalem Academy of Music and Dance, continued his schooling at the New England Conservatory and earned a Ph.D. from Monash University. He currently lectures in composition and piano at the Queensland Conservatorium Griffith University in Brisbane.



Yotam Haber (Photo: Brian Tarnowski)

Yotam Haber – 2020 Azrieli Commission for Jewish Music

Yotam Haber was born in Holland and grew up in Israel, Nigeria, and Milwaukee. He is the recipient of many prestigious prizes, residencies, and commissions, and is widely performed by the leading new music groups around the world. Haber is Associate Professor at the University of Missouri-Kansas City Conservatory and Artistic Director Emeritus of MATA, the non-profit organization founded by Philip Glass that has, since 1996, been dedicated to commissioning and presenting new works by young composers from around the world.



Ludwig Van




2020 Azrieli Music Prizes Gala Concert

Celebrating excellence in music composition

World Premieres by composers Keiko Devaux, Yotam Haber and Yitzhak Yedid

With additional works by Pierre Mercure (arranged by Jonathan Monro)

Performed by Le Nouvel Ensemble Moderne and soloists Sharon Azrieli (soprano)
and Krisztina Szabó (mezzo-soprano)

Lorraine Vaillancourt, conductor

October 22, 2020, 8:00 p.m.

Live streamed at Medici.TV and via

— — — — —


Ludwig Van
Share this article
comments powered by Disqus

We have detected that you are using an adblocking plugin in your browser.

The revenue we earn by the advertisements is used to manage this website. Please whitelist our website in your adblocking plugin.